June 03, 2017 | 8:00 PM | Riverside Community ChurchBuy Tickets

Vivaldi, Handel, and Bach

George Stelluto, Conductor
Josefien Stoppelenburg, Soprano
Francesca Anderegg, Violin

Concert Sponsor:


With additional support from PNC and the Ruby K. Worner Trust

Vivaldi:  Concerto for Two Violins in A minor, Op. 3, No. 8
Francesca Anderegg, violin
George Stelluto, violin

Bach:  Cantata No.51,  Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen, BWV 51
Josefien Stoppelenburg, soprano

Handel:  Gloria in B-flat Major
Josefien Stoppelenburg, soprano

Bach:  Orchestral Suite No.3 in D Major, BWV 1068

Joyful music of Bach, Handel, and Vivaldi begins the PSO’s 120th anniversary festivities.

Josefien Stoppelenburg headshot
Josefien Stoppelenburg, soprano

The 119th season of the Peoria Symphony Orchestra ends by beginning the celebration of its 120th anniversary year a little early. In a not to its past, this performance will take place at Riverside Community Church. The debut performance of the newly re-named Peoria Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Harold Plowe, took place in this very hall in December 1916 when it was named The Shrine Temple – and eventually the Old Shrine Mosque.

The PSO returns to this historic location with the ebullient music of the baroque era with the music of Vivaldi, Handel and Bach. After a quick Vivaldi Concerto for Two Violins and Strings, Handel’s amazing Gloria in B-Flat is paired in ethereal celebration with Bach’s Cantata No. 51 Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen – both with beautiful writing for orchestra and solo soprano, solo violin, and solo trumpet. Bach’s shining Orchestral Suite No. 3 ends the evening full of dance and earthy celebration after the more heavenly joy of the preceding works.

Click here to read Josefien Stoppelenburg’s biography

Click here to hear Josefien Stoppelenburg in performance

Francesca Anderegg

“…rich tone…virtuosic panache…” The New York Times
“…astonishing assurance…” The Chicago Sun-Times

Lauded for her “exceptional performances” and “fiery interpretation,” violinist Francesca Anderegg delivers elegant and impassioned accounts of contemporary and classical music. She has collaborated with the leading musicians of the concert stage, including Itzhak Perlman, Pierre Boulez, and the musicians of the Ensemble Intercontemporain. She had her Carnegie Hall debut in 2008, and has appeared in all of New York’s major venues. She regularly performs with the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, the Minnesota Orchestra, and St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, and throughout the United States as a soloist and chamber musician.

Click here to read Francesca Anderegg’s biography

Curious? Click here to learn more about this program.



309.671.1096 TICKETS
309.495.0575 FAX